TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL CANADA BOARD MEETING

Wednesday, June 1, 2005 15:00 – 15:30 EDT

The University Club of Toronto, 380 University Avenue, Toronto, ON

Present:

Wes Cragg, Chair

Bronwyn Best Joy Kennedy Robert Blackburn Ian Marshall Clare Bonnell Errol Mendes David Brennan Bob Olivero Peggy Cunningham John Swinden

Tom Goldie

Regrets:

Elizabeth Beale John McWilliams Anita Davis John Willson

MINUTES

1. Nomination of Officers for 2005 – 2006

Moved by Tom Goldie and **seconded** by Ian Marshall that the following officers be elected for 2005 – 2006, until the next TI-Canada Annual General Meeting:

Wes Cragg - Chair and President

Clare Bonnell - Vice Chair

John Swinden - Treasurer

Bronwyn Best – Secretary

Carried.

It was requested there be discussion regarding succession planning at the fall Board Meeting.

2. Guidelines for Committee Chairs and Membership

Moved by Mr. Goldie and **seconded** by Clare Bonnell that the following be guidelines be created for committee chairs and membership:

- Minimum of 4 and maximum of 6 Board Members per committee
- Board Members should serve on a minimum of one committee and a maximum of two committees
- The TI-Canada Chair and President is an ex-officio member of all committees, as per the present Governance Guidelines
- Board Members will be chairs of committees and a Board Member may chair only one committee, at a time
- Non Board Members may be invited to serve on committees, with the exception
 of the Governance and Nominating Committee, which will be made up only of
 members of the Board
- The Governance and Nominating Committee has the authority to make exceptions to these guidelines on a case-by-base basis

Carried.

3. Committee Membership for 2005 – 2006

Moved by Mr. Goldie and **seconded** by Mr. Marshall that the following would be the committee membership for 2005-2006, as of 1 June 2005:

Governance and Nominating Committee

Tom Goldie, Chair Clare Bonnell David Brennan Ian Marshall John McWilliams John Willson

Membership Committee

Anita Davis, Chair Clare Bonnell Peggy Cunningham Errol Mendes John Swinden

Municipal Governance Committee

Elizabeth Beale Robert Blackburn Joy Kennedy John McWilliams John Swinden John Willson

Due to time constraints, John McWilliams has notified Tom Goldie that he is no longer able to chair this committee.

International Conventions Committee

Joy Kennedy, Chair Peggy Cunningham Michael Davies Errol Mendes Bob Olivero

Extractive Industries Committee

Elizabeth Beale Robert Blackburn Anita Davis Gerry Ohlsen Tilda Mmegwa

John Swinden will be kept informed of any issues involving finances. Other Board Members, with affiliated interests, will be consulted, as the need arises. A Chair for this committee has yet to be recommended.

Americas Committee

Bob Olivero, Chair Sharon O'Regan Carried.

4. New Members

Moved by Errol Mendes and **seconded** by John Swinden to accept that Patricia Josefchak, Peter Dent and Jennifer Roynonbe accepted as Individual Members and Davis & Co. be accepted as a Professional/Business Member. **Carried.**

5. Other Business

It was noted there should be an orientation for new Board Members, in conjunction with the fall Board Meeting.